Featured image for blog post on Packers vs Bears in the playoffs. It shows BJ Raji returning an interception for a touchdown against Caleb Hanie.

      Bears vs Packers Playoff History

      • All time series: Tied 1-1
      • First meeting: December 14, 1941
      • Last meeting: January 23, 2011
      • Each team’s win led to an eventual World Championship


      December 14, 1941: Packers 14 Bears 33

      Played at Wrigley Field in front of 43,000 people and a week after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Bears beat the Packers 33-14. Both teams entered the game with a record of 10-1, and each team’s loss came against the other. The Packers scored first on a Clark Hinkle touchdown but the Bears would score 30 straight points to take a 30-7 halftime lead. The Packers only had 33 yards rushing and turned the ball over four times in the loss. The Bears would beat the Giants in their next game to win their 5th World Championship.

      January 23, 2011: Packers 21 Bears 14

      The Bears were the number two seed and winner of the NFC North while the Packers just got in as a sixth seed. They split the regular season meetings and the Packers beat the Bears in the final week of the regular season just to get in. The Packers knocked Bears quarterback Jay Cutler out of the game in the second quarter and he was replaced first by Todd Collins, and then by Caleb Hanie. The defense is the main reason the Packers won as Aaron Rodgers threw for zero touchdowns but two interceptions, while defensive lineman BJ Raji intercepted a pass and returned it for a touchdown. Sam Shields sealed the victory with an interception in the final minute as the Bears were trying to tie it up. The Packers would go on to beat the Pittsburgh Steelers for their 13th World Championship.

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *